Home » Life » Saturday Sunshine

Saturday Sunshine

This past week has been a little different for me. I can make plans for something, map out the steps to get there. Like with running. I break it up, set up a reasonable time frame for my goal. But making changes in my life… I need a little persuasion. But I’m proud of myself. This past week I mixed up running outside, on my own and with a buddy, working out with YouTube videos in the mornings before work, not eating meat and sticking to water.

This past week I got a S’well water bottle from work. I’m pretty sure it’s 25oz, it’s pretty big, and it keeps my water cold for a long time. It’s great, I’m so happy I got one.

I’d like to lose weight and maintain that fitness level, but I also want to do it without paying for a gym pass. So I’m trying to be creative and incorporating fitness into my lifestyle. The no-neat thing makes me a little more aware of what I’m buying and what I’m eating. I don’t know if I could live without bacon so I don’t think this is a forever thing, but really, I’m kinda just excited I made it a week. I’ve been saying I’ll go veggie for this and that but I hadn’t. This go around I realized I can say I can start all I want or I can just start and stop talking about it. Haha!

As for Rocco. I had him in mini braids the first week. I don’t know why I went so mini. I by-passed my Sunday washed and figured I would go another week. Then Monday rolled around, my scalp felt like it needed clarifying, so I started to undo them. Didn’t quiiite finish that night so I styled it in a way that blended the braided with my unbraided hair. Tuesday came around and I ended up chilling on the sand with my bf. I took a couple out that night but didn’t get to finish so I once again styled it appropriately. Wednesday came around and I was determined to get the last of them undone. I enlisted my mom’s help, and we undid the last of them. I wore my hair in a bun for the rest of the week. Saturday morning I was happy to give Rocco a good wash and deep condition. I’m kinda thinking maybe I’ll put him in Curlformers this evening… I organized a golf scramble for work and I always have to wear my hair in a way that I can put a hard hat on top so it’s not usually out. I kind of want to do something different this time around. Why not right?

I love the feeling of freshly washed, dried, twisted hair. Makes me happy. I think I need to find a day to straighten my hair. I’ve been natural for 2 years and 5 months and I have never taken a flat iron to my strands but I’m getting a little curious to see what it looks like. I’ll admit, this post by Tales of a Curly Girl started me thinking. So keep an eye out for a post where I straighten Rocco. Eek!

I went to the market today and found the cutest little bag. I’m going to send that to my 3-year-old niece and hope she likes it.IMG_0245

One thought on “Saturday Sunshine

Leave a Reply

