Home » Life » Fishing With Friends!

Fishing With Friends!

Sunday evening was fantastic!! My bestie, S, and her fiance, M, invited me river fishing on their boat. I was kind of tired and more ready for a nap then for an adventure but I knew I should take the chance while it was offered so off I went. We got some snacks, launched the boat and off we went.

I really like the feeling of being on a boat. Like flying, you get to see a different perspective of an every day thing. I’ve passed the river, driving alongside it on the highways hundreds of times. I’ve skipped rocks on the water from shore and had picnics nearby. But I’d never been in the water. Looking at the shore while bouncing along at an exhilarating pace.

We found a spot and dropped anchor. M cast the two rods and the three of us sat back and vigilantly watched the rods for any movement. S and I were screaming each time it bounced and M had to tell us to calm ourselves and reminded us what to look for. There were a couple bobs and M sprang into action. S grabbed the net and I grabbed my camera. Our first catch of the day was a wee little guy. He was so funny and quite active. Not gonna lie, S and I screamed as M tried to grab the little fish to toss him back into the river. It was like watching someone try to grab a bar of soap! It was hilarious!! S and I raised our feet, no way this little fishy was gonna touch us. Finally M scooped him and flung him back to the water, reset the line and then sat back as S and I caught our breaths after laughing so hard.

About 15 minutes later that line went crazy again and like clockwork, M grabbed the rod, S grabbed the net and I grabbed my camera. We had something good this time!! M was hanging on and reeling in the line, directing S where she needed to be with the net. I was so excited!!! I could see a lot of movement under the surface. It wasn’t too long before S had the fish backed into the net. It was fantastic! She had to pass the handle to M cause the fish was so big and he hauled it out of the water into the boat. Eeeeee!! Their biggest Spring Salmon of the year!! It was so cool. We were all pretty pumped. We gutted it (and by we I mean M gutted it) and then hung around for 20 more minutes. No more bites so we packed it in. What. A. Day.

I’m so glad I went out! We saw a seal in the river and on our zippy boat ride home I spotted a deer along the bank. He had a set of antlers growing.  A memorable evening out on the river, for sure!

Leave a Reply

