Home » Fitness » My Week: Running, Rocco and James

My Week: Running, Rocco and James

I’m pretty proud of myself. Yesterday I planned to go for a run but instead had a luxurious sleep in. Today I gave myself the boot out of bed and hit the road. Running outside is a luxury compared to running on a treadmill. It was fantastic. It was overcast and a little cool today but no rain which was ideal for me. And guess what? Yeah, I ran 10 k. Whoo!! And I ran it in under an hour!!!

It went like this. La dee da. Here I go! On the road and feeling pretty good. What should I do today. 6 k? 8 k? You know… let’s do a 10 k. I need to know I’m capable of it still. And off I went.

Nearing the end of my run I was sitting at 9.3 something. I was sitting at about 56 minutes? I wanted to get this 10 in under 60 minutes so you’d better believe I kicked it into high gear. It was a race against the clock and I came in 59:20. How’s that for squeaking in? Aaah it felt so great! I should have kept going just a little longer because I looked at my RunKeeper afterwards and my longest clocked run was 10.6 k. But hey maybe I’ll just go for a 12 next time?

I’m really happy to know that I am capable of running a 10 k well in advance of my race. And knowing my benchmark right now will help me see my improvements. I’m a happy girl.

ALSO!! The gym has been my best friend these past 2 weeks. It does help. In so many ways then I can count. My day is just better. I will definitely keep that going.

I’m currently sitting with a bag on my head (it’s Sunday, what’s new right?). I finally bought myself a new hair dryer. I bought one for $50, then promptly returned it when I found one for $25. If the blow dryer styled and twisted my hair for me I would’ve gladly shelled out that cash but otherwise… $25 is just fine. I can finally toss my 9 year old hair dryer that makes horrible revving sounds and I’m sure will short circuit any day now.

My hair in the front is now past my chin. It’s crazy. I try and treat Rocco right in hopes he’ll just do his thing and keep on growing. So far it’s worked out well. It’s been 2 years and 3 months since my BC and I honestly couldn’t be happier.

For the rest of the day I plan to make wonton soup (Yum!!). Later this afternoon I’ll be hanging at the coffee shop with my buddy L to plan our trip to the Island next month. Weeeee!!

Oh yeah!! I forgot, last week B and I went to the coast for a couple days to hang out. It was fantastic. It was nice and warm, not raining as usual, and we had a fantastic dinner and a fabulous ocean sunset view. I also took home a crab. I named him James and James was one feisty crab. And he was also delicious. My mom was not impressed with my naming our dinner hehe.

Hope your Sunday is treating you right!!

Leave a Reply

