Home » Fitness » A Week So Far

A Week So Far

It is crazy how effortlessly the pounds and inches pile on.

The gym has been my morning coffee and my morning ass kicking for the past week now. Has it been easy? Meh. At least it’s not winter where the hardest part is going from the house to the car. It’s nice out, still dark as night, but if it’s windy it’s a warm wind and traffic is zero.

On Monday I stepped on the scale and saw that I was 2 lbs away from reintroducing myself to my heaviest weight. I knew I was creeping up there but there was no way I was willing to restrict myself on my long weekend road trip so I decided to deal with ‘all that’ when I returned home. So Monday after I got home I saw my reality and realized what needed to be done.

Do you know what I was doing unconsciously while shopping on my trip? I was attracted to and looking for loose fitting shirts. Yeah. Loose. I didn’t want anything that hugged my body I wanted shirts that floated away from me to take focus off my tummy. Blah.

Thursday after work I bought a gym pass and Friday morning I was at the gym at a little after 4 in the morning. Yeah. Crazy. Crazy good. I’ve been to the gym every day this week and it’s exactly what I need. Working life takes up my time from 5 AM to 7 PM and I stress myself out trying to fit something in after work and before my 9:30 PM bedtime so getting it out of the way before I’m really awake is my best bet. Waking up isn’t that tricky, it’s going to bed in good time. A couple of times this week I woke up on my own a couple minutes before my alarm.

I don’t gym on the weekends. Those are my absolute rest days. But Saturday I plan to run 10k with my buddy L. I’m also going to shop for glasses (yay!) I’ve had mine for waaaaay too long and need to switch it up. It’s my birthday on Monday (eek!) so Saturday the boy and I are gonna go for a mini road trip and it’s going to be wonderful 🙂

As far as working out, I do have a goal. But I mostly want to see results. I want to shed inches more than I want to shed pounds. I want to feel good. And I want to feel and look strong. I think I’m heading in the right direction.

As far as hair goes, I’m a big fan of mini twists and I wear them all week. On the last day I may untwist them and wear a twist out. So for gyming I generally put them in pig tails. As long as they’re off my neck and face I’m happy. I try and pay attention the ends *shuffles feet* with shea butter lovin and some coconut oil. Sometimes when I’m sitting at work I’ll squish one of my ends between my fingers and if it makes a sound like crunchy autumn leaves I know it’s time to get them watered haha! But as long as my hair is not touching my skin I’m ok. And yes, I do sweat. But I haven’t found that it’s been an issue for my scalp so that’s a bonus. I’ll make sure to keep you posted on my routine.

 

3 thoughts on “A Week So Far

  1. Congratulations on your new fitness journey. As a fitness junkie, my advice to you is to maintain a consistent regime. Mix it up with a variety of exercises including strength training. With a consistent program an a balanced diet, nothing extreme, you will see results. Have fun!

    • Thanks! Yes, I’m all about making it a habit and not a chore. I’m kind of excited for next week’s gyming 🙂 It’s actually helped me stay alert at work. I’m at my desk all day and not even kidding, an hour after lunch and I’m fading away. But not anymore which is great.

      • Oh that’s wonderful! The benefits of exercise is endless. An overall healthy lifestyle nourishes the mind, body, and spirit. I look forward to reading your updates. You go girl!!

Leave a Reply

