Home » Hair Care » Length Check! 19 Months!

Length Check! 19 Months!

So before winter sets in and I put Rocco away in a seasonal protective style (likely Havana twists) I thought it would be a great time to do a length check and see how far I’ve come in my 1 year and 7 months being natural.

In these pics I’m wearing my hair in a blown-out twist-out. I washed and deep conditioned my hair last weekend, blow dried, oiled and twisted it. I just wore it in twists for most of the week and took out the twists today for this look. Honestly, I failed to moisturize my twists at all for the 4 days so before I untwisted them I spritzed them with water and put shea butter on the ends. They were bouncy and soft so I think Rocco forgives me ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here are some of my previous length checks at 6 months and 15 months. Rocco’s been growing ๐Ÿ™‚

PS: If anyone has a cure for under-eye circles lemme know. I look like a panda… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

12 thoughts on “Length Check! 19 Months!

  1. I’ve been twisting my hair after I wash it, while it’s still wet and wearing it like that most of the week before I take it out and wear it untwisted. My last relaxer was March 2012, and I cut the last bit of relaxed hair off about four months ago. I love my hair and the freedom of it. I was inspired by you to continue this journey and I couldn’t be happier. Thank you!! I should do a length check myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    • My big chop was March 2012! I love that and I’m so happy to hear you found inspiration from me sharing my experience! Twists are something I never did when I was relaxed and I’ve found it’s my best friend with my natural hair, I’m excited it works for you too. I’m so glad you’re enjoying your hair and it has been looking great! Can’t wait to see your length check! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for the comment!

  2. Your hair is beautiful (and so are you!)…and yay…Rocco is growing! I should name my mane like that. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I could remember when I started wearing my hair natural again…I should have kept up with that better (I didn’t have a perm previously, but I used to flat iron…haven’t done that in months, but I can’t remember when I stopped). I didn’t have to do a big chop, but I cut quite a lot of it anyway, as it was just a little less time consuming to deal with. I’ve been enjoying it shorter, but will watch it for growth as the winter begins to set it. Perhaps in spring I may let it stay longer…we shall see. But your progress is good…keep up the good work!

    • That’s really sweet, thank you! I used to flat iron my hair soo much. Chemicals and heat over and over. No wonder my hair would break so easily. I enjoyed having short hair and little sprouting curls.
      Let me know what you name your mane! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Aaah Rocco is absolutely gorgeous! WOW you really are coming a long way round. I think you are my favorite natural hair and lifestyle inspiration of the year. I cant wait to see Rocco all grown up! And I start running again once I am done with exams! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for sharing your journey with us!

    • Aaah thanks Sophia! That means a lot to me ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel like you’re probably the closest to being my hair twin, I think our textures are really similar so I’m always inspired by the styles you wear but usually too lazy… haha but I’m gonna ace this protective style this winter (I hope!). I’m excited for you to start running again.

      I wish I was heading into summer and not winter. I’m not the the hardcore type to run outside if it’s anywhere close to 0 degrees and you can forget about me running in the snow. Nope. So I’ll be taking my workouts indoors and I’ll have to get creative. Hope your exams go well!

  4. Wow, look at her, sweet!!!!! thanks for posting doll, excellent progress, shows that you are taking really good care of your tresses, keep the great work up and thanks for inspiring the rest of us ๐Ÿ™‚
    Smiles!!!!

Leave a Reply

