Home » Life » Tales From My Parents’ Place

Tales From My Parents’ Place

This is a true story. It didn’t happen to a friend of a friend of mine. It happened to me. Today.

I went to a 6 AM fitness class this morning, came home, did some stuff, had a nap, and after waking up from my nap, wandered into the kitchen to find a loaf of bread. Strange, I thought, this loaf is warm, yet it is not sitting in a patch of sunlight. It was a fresh baked loaf of bread. What is this sorcery? I almost wondered if I went for another nap, what I would wake up to. That bread was delicious.

Another true story, occurring between my workout class and my nap: I wanted to get some stuff for smoothies so I… get this… got in the car and drove to the store.

I know. Take a moment to let that sink in. I didn’t look for $2.50 in change, then gather my bags then walk to the bus stop then wait at the bus stop. I didn’t hitch my panniers to my bike, put on my helmet and bike to the store. I didn’t put my iPod to my workout playlist, put my backpack on and walk to the store. I picked up the keys and drove.

This. Is. A. Luxury.

Now it’s still sunny enough I could have biked to the store but my bike is still in pieces in its transport box. It was sooooo nice to have access to a vehicle! I can’t even tell you.

Andย thenย mom and I got some cucumbers (from the garden!), carrots and apples, tossed them in the juicer and enjoyed a yummy, healthy drink.

And also, last night, pops and I were cleaning up the basement (okay he was sorting stuff and I was playing The Sims 3 [it’s addicting and my Sims are on kid #24]) and he popped upstairs for a bit and then came down and said dinner was ready. What? Yeah. I went upstairs and there was food. Real hot food. It’s magic I tell you.

But don’t worry, while I am enjoying blogging, eating, napping and working out I am also job-hunting. But I am definitely enjoying this life at home. I also need to find a recipe that I can cook up for the parents. They need to know I am capable of creating delicious foods. It just takes a little longer that’s all. And I can’t whip up meals, I can only follow recipes. I just don’t have their gift.

PS: There are so many places to nap! In my bachelor there was my bed or the futon. Here there is a vast selection of beds, couches, the futon, the floor, the lawn, the porch– it’s a napper’s paradise! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus if you’re too warm upstairs you can just head downstairs. Two levels to a house, who’d a thought?

4 thoughts on “Tales From My Parents’ Place

  1. I couldn’t help but chuckle at this post. My mom passed away during my teens and I often wonder what life would be like if she was till here and I still lived at home (yes, at 27 I wld probably still live with the moms….I think!). Your account sounds just about right! You know how they say ‘misery loves company’? I hate to admit it but I selfishly felt a lil better to have found someone who admits that they can’t whip something up in the kitchen BUT can follow a recipe – that’s me right there! Lol. Enjoy x

    • I couldn’t wait to leave home after school was over and I loved being away for those 5 years. I think I needed that time away to really understand and value what I had here. It’s still great being home, it’s such a slower pace than the city I was living in.
      Sorry to hear about your mom! I’m sure she would enjoy the recipes you make even if you can’t whip up something the way she could ๐Ÿ™‚ I really don’t understand how people do it. I’m convinced it’s magic! ๐Ÿ˜›
      I’m so happy you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

