Home » Life » Remember That Time I Put A Pause On Blogging…

Remember That Time I Put A Pause On Blogging…

And then my world got turned upside down. And not for the worse? Yeah, that would be right now.

I have been laid off. Today.

That’s right. At the end of this month I will be unemployed. Un. Em. Ployed. Without work. No income.

I am fortunate though. This could be (and continues to be) a really scary and uncertain time for people. But, I really don’t have anything or anyone holding me here. My expenses are limited to my phone and my credit card (boo).

I don’t have any dependents (single and childless right here).
I don’t own a home.
I don’t own a vehicle.
I just disconnect my internet.
Break my lease on my apartment.
Put a hold on my student loan payments (ugh).
Drop off everything at Value Village (except my bike and TV).
Hop on a plane and head to my parents where I can spend my days job hunting and not starving (bonus).

But did I NOT say 3 days ago about job hunting? I think my exact words were: “I’m also looking for a new job and we all know how little fun job-hunting is. Oy.”

Crazy right? I think I could see it coming down the pipe. I wasn’t the only one which actually made me feel better. I think one other positions were contract positions that weren’t renewed.

Anyway, just thought I’d share that with you all. It’s so weird because last night I was soooo jazzed and inspired and I was up putting new workout songs on my playlist and I was up this morning for the first time inΒ forever and fit in a workout before work. So I think my head is just in the right place. I’m in the right space. This isn’t the worst thing in the world. This is an opportunity.

I am untethered and I have the whole world in front of me. I’m gonna take it!

14 thoughts on “Remember That Time I Put A Pause On Blogging…

  1. This may prove to be one of the most rewarding times of your life! Oh and thank God for great parents who are there to let you know that their home is always your home. Love and blessings to you!

    • Exactly! I think this has the opportunity to be what I want to design it to be. After I was done school I felt this crush of pressure to find something, anything really. Now I feel like I can really focus in on what I want to do. I’m excited and so fortunate that I do have my parents as a great support. They’re hilarious. My dad’s response was ‘Can you be packed by the end of the month? I can drive down and get you.’ and we’re talking a 20 hour drive one-way! ha! So much love. I’m blessed πŸ™‚

  2. abso-frickin-lutley this is an opportunity and it is awesome you can see it like that straight up!

    It is a total bummer that you have been laid off but as you say, the ripple effect won’t be as huge as if you had kids, mortgage and a lot of other commitments. I too and single and commitment free – aside from a big chunk of consumer debt.

    Last october I was completely broke, moved back home, no job for 3 months and a huge bunch of credit card debt and a loan. I’d been wanting to kick it for ages but never found myself in a situation where I could commit a lot of money – the big chunks – needed to get serious about the debt reduction. As I was paying rent blah blah.

    Through a random chain of events, I found myself in the position outlined above and I thought as soon as I get a job, I am going to smash this debt out and stay living with my folks until its done. I tried to see it as an opportunity to change something I had been dragging around so long.

    Without being catapulted into the situation I found myself in, I wouldn’t have made any more progress on sorting my finances out. Sue, it’s hard some times, but when I am finally debt free I will be soooooo happy! And have made a huge change in my life!

    Make it an opportunity and rock on to a fabulous new path!!

    • Everything you’ve said rings true. And it really is a chance for me to catch my breath, financially and just generally. I can take a moment to look for what I want and not just get the first job that comes my way because ‘omg I have to pay rent somehow’.

      Being debt free is my ultimate goal as well and this is putting me on the path. I’ve been doing okay so far, I managed to pay off two credit cards which felt amaaazing!

      It will just be a lot easier to job hunt while I’m at home. I’m not tied to living in the city where I live right now and it would be an easier launching pad moving for a job when I’m not paying rent at one place and having to set up moving/leases/deposits at another place. So this is a great lineup.

      I’m pretty excited about this chapter. I know there may be frustrations ahead… my roomie actually moved home a month ago and only just found a job today. So, I respect the fact that it may take a while but that’s life and I’m so thankful I have my parents cheering for me and giving me my old room back πŸ™‚ haha

      Thanks for the comment!! This is gonna be fun times πŸ™‚

  3. What good fortune everything is aligned for you to build a bigger and better life wherever and however you choose! I commend you for going straight for the empowered approach, skipping the temptation to feel sorry for yourself as I know I would with such a challenge sprung upon me. It definitely sounds like you’re in the right space πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! It just seemed to align itself so well. I’m just very… content right now. I’ve got support and I’m working on a plan. It won’t be all smooth sailing of course but that’s life! I’m ready for it πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I will definitely have something to write about now! My dad was ready to come down and help me load up all my stuff in his Jeep and take me back home and it was really great to think… I don’t need any of this stuff… It would be cheaper for me to toss some things on Greyhound and fly home.

      I am a list-maker by nature and a minimalist at heart so I am so excited to cart this stuff off to the thrift store and take my luggage home with me. I’m excited for this chapter πŸ™‚

  4. You are absolutely right about what you shared here. There must be an end before the fabulous beginning. So hope on that plane and fly away to new opportunities and adventure!

  5. Hi there,

    I’m sorry to read that you were laid off, but this might just be a big ‘ole blessing! Thank goodness that you do have a nice place to go, clear your head, and like you said, eat delicious meals and mow the lawn. πŸ™‚ I was unemployed recently for 5 months. It was the longest 5 months of my life. I was not laid off though, I quit! After 10 years of employment at the same place, I quit. I was ready for a change. Good luck with the job hunt. I’m going to ready some more of your posts. I like your writing style. Blessing to you!

    • Thanks for the comment! I’m looking at it as exactly that– a blessing.

      How are you liking where you are now work-wise? I can’t imagine leaving after 10 years but I can imagine the feeling of relief and freedom. Good on you for taking that plunge!

      Thanks for your kind words, I’m excited to see where I’ll end up πŸ™‚ And thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

