Home » Money » My Thrifty Shopping

My Thrifty Shopping

I was in Vancouver this past weekend hanging out with a good friend of mine. We. Had. A. Blast! This is going down as one of my most memorable adventures with L. She’s on her last leg of schooling, she’s already got a fantastic job on the horizon and we knew a fun weekend was what we needed. It felt great to go out and socialize.

One great thing about L (among many) is she is my go-to thrift buddy. We both have the patience and humour that are optimal characteristics of a thrifter and we are honest in our opinions. I found three dresses and a shirt that I knew would be useful additions to my wardrobe. I didn’t purchase anything on a whim and I felt really good about what I took home.

I  mentioned to L earlier that I needed a spice rack. I’m sure she saw me looking at her magnetic spice racks with envy. Well, what did we happen upon in the thrift store? A magnetic spice rack! I was so happy when she found them and for $6! Perfect. Because they’re magnetic they can go on the fridge and I’m not losing any precious counter space. Just what I was looking for.

I’ve added photos of the dresses I purchased. I have to say I’m pretty jazzed at what I took home. Also, they were my only purchases on my weekend trip of ‘take home items’ otherwise it was food and drinks so my home remains uncluttered. I’m also kind of pleased I went with a ‘buy nothing new’ method. I just gave clothes a second life. You can find a lot of treasure at second hand stores. It is hit-or-miss but I think that’s the fun in it.

Other pics from my Vancouver visit!

Thrifting… do you love it or loathe it?

12 thoughts on “My Thrifty Shopping

    • It’s so much fun! And it’s such a break from what is ‘in’ at the moment.

      It’s funny because people think they have a wealth of choice going to department stores, but you really only get exactly what is put out there and labeled as ‘in’. At a thrift store you get to wade through a mish mash of styles and types and even if you don’t find exactly your size, because there’s only one of it, you’re more likely to put some care into tailoring it for yourself. Well, I’m definitely just speaking for myself. Can you tell I like thrifting? haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

