Home » Hair Care » Rocco’s Routine — 16 Months & Growing

Rocco’s Routine — 16 Months & Growing

I recently did a length check but it’s been a while since I’ve done an update on how I’ve been caring for my hair. Here’s a week in the life of Rocco, my fro.

Weekdays

I pretty much always wear my hair in an ‘out’ do. Either braid or twist-out. It’s either a free fro with a part or I twist the front portions down to the sides. Sometimes I wear a puff but not very often. I’ve made a point of getting my hair ready for bed as soon as I get home from work. So before I go about getting food ready or sitting on the couch I get my wide toothed comb and twist/braid and oil my hair.

To prep my hair I spritz the ends with water and work it in with my fingers and then I’ll seal it with shea butter. I usually end up dividing my hair into six sections. Once that’s done I am free to do what I want and my hair is now one less obstacle between me and sleep when it comes to bedtime. Although if I have plans after work then I’ll just do what I gotta do and do it up before bed time. I will be the first to admit I have gone to bed with my hair loose. It wasn’t the end of the world but it doesn’t set me up for a good hair day.

If my scalp is feeling dry and itchy I put some coconut oil on my fingertips and massage my scalp.

Fridays

Wash daaaay for Rocco! I put him in 4 pony puffs and hit the shower. Normally I wet, shampoo each section, condition (Tresemme something or other) and rinse and then I put in my deep conditioner and hang out for a couple of hours with a plastic bag wrapped around my head and a towel wrapped around the plastic bag. Afterwards I rinse it out, oil it,  and put in medium sized braids.

Weekends

Now sometimes (depends what kind of weekend it is… if it’s a hermity weekend or a social weekend) I will leave my braids in for the whoooole weekend and just moisturize them as needed. Then come Monday I have a solid braid-out! This is my slacker way out. Honestly though, I’m not bothered leaving my house with my hair in braids. I usually go for runs with my bedtime twists/braids in. Saturday morning I went to the grocery store and did my thang. I’ll admit though Saturday afternoon I had to pick up something I’d forgotten from the store and I left my helmet on… ha! But really, I don’t mind.

Products

Shea butter – loooove this stuff
Coconut oil
Water
Deep conditioner – Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner
Shampoo – I started out with Shea Moisture’s Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention. After a year (that stuff got me through my first year as a natural) it ran out… I haven’t found it in Canada so to tide me over I’ve been using Giovanni. But it’s a little pricey for me ($10 for 250ml) and it leaves my hair a little too squeaky clean. This past weekend I opted to purchase Jason Restorative Biotin Shampoo. While it was also $9.99 it holds 473ml — sold! Maybe this will lead to a product review…? I’ll let you know how it is.
Conditioner – any cheap stuff will do. I’ve used Tresemme Naturales mostly because it comes in a big bottle and probably because it was on sale. On Saturday I picked up a smaller bottle of Garnier Fructis… meh. I need to visit Seattle and stock up on all the good stuff hair-wise.

Generally my hair has been happy. I trimmed it last week because the ends were getting crunchy and knotty. I don’t trim on a set schedule, only when I feel it’s necessary. In my 16 months I’ve trimmed my hair 3 times.

I’ve learned plenty these past 16 months. I feel like less is more with my hair and I try to keep it simple. I am ready to try new styles though, maybe a twist that goes all around my head like a crown, or chunky twists assembled in a neat way. The only bummer is I have to slap a helmet on it for my ride to and from work… I just have to find something that travels well 😉

5 thoughts on “Rocco’s Routine — 16 Months & Growing

    • I know! Back then the 14th of every month I would know how many months natural I am. Now that I’ve passed the year it’s not even something I think about. It’s just my hair now.

  1. I’m really enjoying your blog. I recently discovered Shea Moisture and its working magic on my hair! Walgreen has the line for US$9.99. I plan to purchase the entire line from shampoo right down and ship them to Antigua. Will be worth it. I can’t wait for my hair to grow long enough for twist outs etc 🙂

    • I’m so glad you enjoy my blog! I have fun writing it 🙂 I really like the Shea Moisture line. I’ve only tried the shampoo, conditioner and curl smoothie but I was a big fan. My shampoo managed to last me a full year! Of course I was freshly chopped so I mainly co-washed but still. I need to make sure to stock up when I’m next in the states. I haven’t found a good price to purchase them online yet.

      • Is there a better price than Walgreen’s US$9.99? Target is $11.99. I just hope my hair loves the line as much as the smoothie 😉

Leave a Reply

