Home » Life » Bye Buddy!

Bye Buddy!

Fitness

Today was a big day. I ran 10k. Why is that big? Because the last time I ran 10k was… wait for it… March 16. Time slips away so quickly. Over the past couple weeks I’ve been saying to myself, go for a run, it’s been a month since you’ve last done a 10k. But turns out it’s been nearly 4 months now. Eek!

It was a great day because my buddy T and I got up at 5:30 AM and drove down to the ocean front and ran up one way 4k and back to make 8k. T’s been running consistently lately but sometimes her knee bothers her. She had a goal for 8k set for next week (when she planned to move) but she got there today and I couldn’t be more proud of her! Now she’s setting her sights on 10k.

I have been crap at running. I don’t know what it is. I have been cycling a lot which, I figure, has sort of replaced my need for running. I was pleasantly reminded how much I enjoy running this morning. We did the 8k, we had a good pace (slower than I normally would which actually proved better in my state) and I knew I just had to do those 2 kms. I justย needed to know that I could still run a 10k. T stopped and I kept going and by the end of it I was really picking up the pace. It was fantastic!

Back in the day (har har) I was doing a 10k every weekend. I think I want to get back to that. My daily cycling will now be my cross-training, which works well, and I plan to include more yoga.

Life

I dropped off T at the airport today. Today was the day she headed back home. We’ve been roomies since I was 20. I am now 25. She’s definitely my best friend and we’ve been through a lot. From school to work and everything in between. She probably knows me best and I’ll miss her. Now I am in my bachelorette suite and it’s alright. It’s going to take some getting used to. No one to chat with while I make dinner. No one to offer me tea as they’re making their own. But it’s okay. I’m really content being at this point in my life where I have a job, I’m working on paying my student loans and I have a place of my own. T’s amazing but we were definitely ready to do our own thing. I’m thankful for the time we had together. We’re planning a trip to visit friends in Toronto at Easter. Here’s hoping!

On another note, I’m a huge fan of automatic withdrawals from my account to my savings accounts. I have 2 set up right now. 1 to RRSPs which goes out every week ad one to my personal savings which also goes out every week. It feels like my money is actually growing! It’s good.

I also had a car for a day so I got rid of a bunch of things that didn’t sell online or I just wanted to get rid of. Score!

I think that’s all.

Happy Saturday to you! Here’s some pics ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Bye Buddy!

Leave a Reply

