Home » Random » Home

Home

i need to see the atlantic ocean from angola’s shores

to walk the red earth of zambia’s roads

to be dwarfed by massive anthills

to have the sun on my shoulders

i need to go home

i want to see the land from a different lens

witness the mighty mist of the smoke that thunders

greet my cousins, aunts, uncles in our language

to be somewhere unfamiliar yet home

i need to go home

to the hospital where i was born

to see the testament of a civil war

from my dad’s homestead

to the land my mother fled

i want to go home

to see my roots instead of hearing about it

the leaves on trees i can’t yet name

hearing bird songs, new to my ears

let’s dance! teach me a song

let’s laugh! tell me i’m doing it wrong

take me home

to the constellations i’ve never seen

to the wind that cools me

to the hearts and love of a family who i left that zambian summer for that canadian winter

a lifetime later, is never too late

to go home

-Ndeshimona

4 thoughts on “Home

  1. Aw! Those words brought tears to my eyes. I was in the trance of home this morning. I looked in my wardrobe and picked out my outfits for my sisters, nieces and in-laws. We will sing tujila kumitondo kanembi, and kaula kaula mungukaula Yesu, with the children the way we used to sing on those wintery early days. Yes I will take you home child.

    • Yes 🙂 Those are the two songs that remind me of home. That’s all the Chokwe I can string together on my own. They can laugh at my North American accent but I shall be singing!!

Leave a Reply

