Home » Fitness » Tracking Your Runs

Tracking Your Runs

I have been using Nike+ for the past 3 years. It’s a non-removable app on my iPhone so I figured it was worth a shot. I did some research and when I was about to buy shoes I opted for ones compatible with Nike+. I also purchased the little tracker that goes in your shoe.

Pros:

Not always accurate distance.

Cons:

You need to purchase both the tracker (as far as I know) as well as the Nike+ compatible shoe. This narrows your shoe choice to only Nikes.

RunKeeper

Pros:

Tracks a number of things like pace, elevation, distance, and breaks it down by the kilometer/mile

You can adjust audio distance reminders, I have mine set for every 3km I have someone telling me how I’m doing

You can add friends and see their workouts

Cons:

Compatible with any shoe.

NOT limited to running.

This app tracks your walking, running, cycling, mountain biking, hiking, downhill skiing, cross country skiing, snowboarding, skating *gasp* wheelchair, rowing, elliptical and other. I would think other would include rollerblading, skateboarding, that sorta thing.

In summary I would just like to say how not cool it was that I have been running all this time and reading running blogs and never once had mentioned to me, or stumbled across people suggesting RunKeeper for a tracker. So, I’m saying it now *climbs onto mountain, bullhorn to mouth* RUNKEEPER IS ONE HECKUVA RUN TRACKER!!!!

4 thoughts on “Tracking Your Runs

  1. Definitely think I’m going to download Runkeeper and try it out. I’ve been using MapMyRun and MapMyRunTraining to train for a 10k and half marathon. But I’d like to be able to keep track of other activities besides running.

    • It’s proven to be a great app. I track my walks/bike rides to work just because I can. And when I go out rollerblading it works for that too. It’s pretty great. And yeah, there’s the training plans too which are good.

Leave a Reply

