Home » Big Chop » The Second Big Chop

The Second Big Chop

Would you do it?

I’ve been fascinated by stories from women who have Big Chopped, grown a full head of natural hair and Big Chopped a second time, third and more. I, personally, love that freedom. When I first did my BC it was to save myself and my hair from the never-ending cycling of burns and breakage. And I am aware that you can maintain relaxed hair without these side effects, but I a) Never enjoyed the process and b) wanted to return to my natural curls.

I get excited when I see a hair journey that includes multiple BCs. Some ladies do it because they get tired of the haircare process, some do it because they want to switch it up and some miss their short ‘do. I feel like the TWA was a process of getting to know yourself again. What do you do when you have all the time in the world? Well, what would you do if your haircare routine went from however many hours a week to 5 minutes each day?

So to answer my initial question: Would I do it? Yeah. Totally. When? Whenever it felt good to me. I am enjoying my hair and I want to see what’s it capable of. I can’t see it happening in the near future but I wouldn’t rule it out either.

10 thoughts on “The Second Big Chop

  1. My first BC was October 2003. Then September 2007, and the last was June 2010. I kept it short until I started my locs in November 2010. πŸ™‚ loved it each time!

    • I think it’s awesome that you BC several times. I can see myself revisiting a short do. Love the low maintenance, easy to keep moisturized abilities that short hair comes with, plus it looks great!

  2. Ive been thinking about big chopping as well but I think once I conquer the never before seen on me long hair attempt, then I will cut my hair again! i loves\d the convenience of shaort hair. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah! Those are my thoughts. I want to see this world of long, natural hair for myself and after that, sure why not chop it off. TWA days are the golden days. Some people just want it to be over but I say, I miss my TWA πŸ™‚

  3. I wouldnt do a second BC, just beacuse i perfer long hair than short on me. However, if my hair got in a seriously bad condition then i wouldnt hesitate to do another BC.

  4. I want to do my second big chop, to get away from relaxers and because I get tired of worrying about what to do with my hair… I will do it in the next month, I hope it goes well.

    • It’s always a shock at first going from having hair to a little fuzz on your head. It’s not only a great starting point for you hair but I think it’s also a good mental reset.

      Hair can be a lot of work so having little to none kind of shifts your priorities a bit.

      ‘Now that I don’t have to worry about my hair what else can I focus on?’ Is where my mind went after my chop.

      I’m sure your chop will be great! I wish you well πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

