Home » Fitness » Running + A Recipe

Running + A Recipe

My second 10k run this morning! Let me break it down for you. I started out pretty strong. I was even thinking to myself ‘wow, I’ve really picked up the pace’. I wasn’t exhausting myself or sprinting but for about 3k I was maintaining a pace a little faster than I usually do. But then I realized I can’t continue for another 7k at this pace so I did take it down a notch.

My route where I turn around was at about 4k and I stretched for a moment. My right hip always feels a little ‘out’ when I run. I should look into this before I injure myself. But I did stop to stretch, feel the breeze and take a couple of pics. The temperature was great, about 8C and there was some nice ocean air. Plenty of other walkers with their dogs on the route which was nice.

Anyway, the last 6k my pace was slower and fairly steady. I did come in at 54:20 so that’s about 3 minutes off which is aaawesome. I think I’m going to do a 5k tomorrow, maybe improve my time for that.

So yeah, second 10k is down and since then I have cleaned the bathroom, eaten my yummy steel cut oats with apple (I am convinced to find and try the crockpot recipe for this), and now I am jamming out on my couch to Michael Jackson beats!

Here are some photos from my run!

And now! The moment you’ve all been waiting for!!!! *drumroll*

The most DELICIOUS quinoa recipe I have experienced thus far. I kid you not. Yesterday, Roomie-T mentioned she was going toIMG_2294 make a quinoa salad that her mom had made her while she was home visiting and I was all, cool. Little did I know this would be the best thing to happen to my mouth in a long time. So here it is!! Try to contain your excitement. Look at this beauty!

Now the recipe calls for chicken stock/chicken but if you’re veggie (like me, for the duration of Lent, more on that later) then veggie stock and a whackload of yummy veggies will do you just fine. We added chickpeas. The recipe is here. It’s super easy, the only thing you have to cook is the quinoa. I’ve decided this has just moved it’s way up to being featured as my ‘lunch for the week’. *pause for applause* It’s a coveted title in my world. The recipe also called for kalamata olives (yumm!!) but roomie-T isn’t a fan so she skipped this. But for my week’s lunch I am going to add peppers and olives. I am going to be one happy girl!

Oh and for the sake of randomness here’s some pics from my V-Day which I realized was V-Day about after lunch and at that point it got a ‘meh’ from me.

Leave a Reply

