Home » Fitness » I Did It! My First 10k!

I Did It! My First 10k!

Earlier this week I thought to myself: I should try a 10k. I had successfully run three 7ks in January and it since I had my friends visiting from Toronto last week and I had been away the week before it had been a while since I had run. So this time I set my sights a little higher.

I planned to go yesterday but I did not get my butt in gear early enough. Then I decided to go with my roomie-friend for some shopping since I was unsuccessful in finding jeans on Friday. So today was the day. I was on the road at about 9 and I ran down to the ocean which was about 4.5k and then I ran back home. As I was about a block from home I realized I had only run 9k. Whaa? I needed to get to 10k so I looked at my house as I sadly continued running past it. I ended up going around the block for a total of 10.02k. I did it!!

I really had to hold back from busting out in the happiest of happy dances but I was really excited and quite proud of myself. The last time I ran a 10k was with a friend when I first moved here. We stopped a couple of times for water break and bathroom and in total it took about 1 hour 15 minutes. Well…. let me tell you this run took me a total of 57’36!!

A running pet peeve of mine: traffic lights. This route I did had three lights that I had to stop and wait at. Gr. It just slows me down and I know three isn’t too bad so I really can’t complain but it does annoy me.

But I just wanted to share because I was pretty elated to have achieved that new milestone. So set a goal for yourself. Make it reasonable and then go do it!

2 thoughts on “I Did It! My First 10k!

    • Yess! I’m so happy to hear that 🙂 First it’s 15 then it’s 20 then 30 then you’ll be at 5k in no time! It’s all about maintaining a good pace though. I’ve learned that time and time again. Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

