Home » Hair Care » Anyone Remember Vanessa Lee Chester? Of Course You Do!

Anyone Remember Vanessa Lee Chester? Of Course You Do!

I remember watching ‘A Little Princess’when I was young (click the link if you’re not familiar with the movie). It came out in 1995 so I was 7. It was and remains one of my favourite movies. I was so excited when I found it at Value Village after moving out of my parents. It was on VHS but thankfully I had a VCR! Score!

Vanessa Lee Chester – from aveleyman.com

A Little Princess is such a heartbreaking yet uplifting film. Anyone remember Sarah shrieking “Papa!” and her father not remembering her? Aah! Tears! And Becky, played by Vanessa Lee Chester putting on those slippers and being so happy! Love love love it!

Later on me and roomie were watching one of our 90s favs, ‘She’s All That’ and I go ‘Hey!! It’s Becky!’ In the first 5 minutes of the movie is VLC with her one or two lines. I looked her up in that film and she is credited as ‘Girl #2’ haha! I’m sure you all remember ‘Harriet the Spy’ and ‘The Lost World: Jurassic Park’… anyway! I digress..

The point of this is I remember her in A Little Princess and I think she is so memorable to me because I thought she was kinda like me. I could relate to being the only black girl amongst my peers and her hair was like mine and she just looked like someone I could be friends with.

I was thinking about young black actresses and immediately thought of her and wanted to see what she was up to. I was so happy when I came across an interview she did with ‘Mahogany Chic’ from April of this year. You can find that interview here. She’s a gorgeous woman. In the interview she talks about her start in the industry, working with the amazing cast of The Lost World: Jurassic Park and on to her hair. While we see her on the screen with straight hair, she is natural and she talks about her hair options when she’s working. It’s a great interview and I’m glad to see she’s still around. All I have to say is Vanessa Lee Chester, why aren’t you on twitter??? 🙂

Update: Of course she’s on twitter! Here she is: @VanessaChester

Update: A recent interview with Vanessa — Swirl Girl Icon

Vanessa Lee Chester – from her fb fanpage

Leave a Reply

