Home » Hair Care » What’s The Opposite of a Product Junkie?

What’s The Opposite of a Product Junkie?

Cause I’m it. My products are limited to a select few. Why? Well, first there aren’t a lot of natural hair products available to me. Of course I could order online but that brings me to my second reason. I’m broke-ass. And third: I’m broke-ass. Haha! But seriously, I can’t be bothered. What products do I use in my hair?

1) Water
2) SheaMoisture Organic Shampoo/Conditioner (which my roomie brought from the states. I’ve had it for 6 months and I’m not even halfway through it yet. Yesss!! Cause when I’m done with it I’ll have to order it online, or make a shopping weekend to the states!)
3) Herbal Essences conditioner
4) Coconut Oil
5) Giovanni Direct Leave In Conditioner
6) Occasionally that Olive Oil Replenishing Leave In Conditioner Pack

I used to have R&B moisturizer from Lush but I ran out and that shit is expeeeensive. And I also ran out of raw shea butter, which I really liked…

Are you a product junkie or an anti-junkie? haha

7 thoughts on “What’s The Opposite of a Product Junkie?

  1. Lol I used to be a complete junkie but I find I’m getting much better. I also started using more natural products on my hair like honey, coconut oil, shea butter, extra virgin olive oil, castor oil, etc. But I find the more I get into natural products the more I buy!!! lol

    • It’s a vicious cycle isn’t it? haha! but on the other hand I think it’s nice to be natural and have the opportunity to try all of these natural products. I don’t think I would have given coconut oil or shea butter a second look before I was natural. I think I may have to add to my product shelf in a couple months time when I have more hair to work with and I start getting into protective styles. But right now my hair is still fairly low maintenance.

  2. not sure, I’m so new to this that I’m discovering new products all the time…when I first started out on this journey, I was using Organix shampoo/conditioner (cause I thought it was sulfate free, NOT), olive oil, generic leave-in-conditioner and that’s it.

  3. I looked at the Organix line too when I was first looking into hair products. Tricky. Olive oil is a great one for hair. Did you find a different shampoo that was sulfate free or do you go for the no-poo method?

    • I’m lucky enough to live where there is a natural food store, and they sell all different kinds of natural products, but I have also been able to locate some of these products at Ulta and Walgreens but they are pricey…The brand I buy from the natural food store is Nature’s Valley and it’s like $5 a bottle

Leave a Reply

