Home » Hair Care » Co-Washing

Co-Washing

My favourite thing ever!

This piece on ‘3 Ways Daily Co-Washing Can Damage Hair’ got me thinking. I normally co-wash daily. I do this because I normally shower daily. For me, the idea that I can have my hair wet daily is a novelty. With relaxed hair my shower cap was my best friend. So the fact that my hair is not scared of water makes me really happy. That’s probably why I jumped on the bandwagon of co-washing with ease. Does my hair need to be washed with conditioner daily? Probably not. From what I’ve read conditioners themselves have a lot of cleansing properties the way shampoo does. So, I removing some build up daily. Which makes me ask myself whether it’s necessary to do it daily. Mostly for me, getting in the shower and getting my hair wet allows me to massage my scalp and ‘wake up’ my flattened curls. Saying this I am aware that I can wake my curls up by simply spraying in some leave in conditioner and massaging my scalp and moisturizing my hair. That’s an opportunity to give my hair a day off. Is that good? Leave it out of the steam of the shower and just moisturize and wet it on its own?

I don’t have a strict regime at all. I try and keep my hair watered and moisturized but that only happens before I leave the house and before bed. I shower close to everyday and wash my hair once a week. And actually, I’m leaving my hair washings a little longer. I think if I can take it to two weeks I’m going to aim for that. So far I’m at 8 days and my hair still feels good. But yeah. I try not to get in the way of my hair. So I don’t twist and pull it too much. I don’t really even like wearing headbands. I just have to remember to deep condition my hair. I may have to find a day, overnight on Saturdays? I’ll make it so that I don’t run Sunday mornings. And I probably work late on Saturday so I could just wear it overnight. Hm…

On that note. I need a leave in conditioner. Or do I? I’ve been using John Frieda’s ‘Daily Nourishment Leave-In Conditioning Spray’ and it has been good to me and it’s a decent price so I may hang onto it. I was looking at Giovanni’s leave-in conditioning spray and it was $10 for about 100mL… which is just too much for me. So I may just pick up another bottle of Frieda. No biggie.

Leave a Reply

