Home » Natural Hair » Hair hair hair!

Hair hair hair!

Double whammy here tonight!

‘Three things naturals obsess about… and shouldn’t’
Length – I don’t obsess about length so much as I have some craaazy hair envy at times. I’m just like damn, these girls, especially when I see youtube hair journeys! I just want it so bad to be me!! But it’s alright. Just gotta check myself. haha

Curl Definition – I’m not too crazy about what’s going on up there. I was just sooo happy in my first couple of months post big chop when I could feel these lively, determined curls sprouting! It was a good feeling. It still is a good feeling.

Hair Type – I’ve got kinky, curly hair and that’s all I know. I don’t think too much about hair type because I don’t think too much about products. I’ve got my sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, deep conditioner, oils, shea butter, leave in conditioner and moisturizer. I’m a-ok. So far these things have been working for me. So it’s all good đŸ˜‰

‘Idle Strands: Three commonly regretted changes we make to our natural hair’
I can honestly say I would never get bangs… with my natural hair. Just because my natural hair grows up and out and not down yknow? And bangs are supposed to sit on my forehead and frame my face yknow? So, bangs for me would never be an option.

I also have to say I wouldn’t colour my hair. I’ve never coloured my hair and I don’t think it’s for me. My hair looks black, but it’s really brown, and has this red tinge to it when it’s in the sun. I dunno. That’s good enough for me!

And as far as haircuts… I can’t really say at this point, with my hair just growing and reaching for the sky. So I don’t know. But I like the idea of letting it grow up and out and just trimming it and keeping it healthy. My hair barely held a styled cut before, I don’t think I would expect it to now.

I think I’m just so content with my hair two months post-relaxer. I’m just so used to my hair being fragile, straight strands snapping off whenever I style it. The anxiety I would get pre-relaxer, the anxiety and discomfort during the relaxer, and the relieved sort of ‘made it through’ post relaxer as I’m rinsing my hair and checking for damage to my scalp. I’m just happy to have started over fresh, and am able to see what my hair is capable of. I just want to nurture and let my hair be the best it can be.

That’s not to say these aren’t for other people or other naturals. But I just got to thinkin’ and so far, at this point in my life and hair journey, they’re not for me.

2 thoughts on “Hair hair hair!

  1. Yes I felt the same way, I decided to go natural christmas of last year so I just tried to let my perm grow out but didn’t like the way my hair looked and it just looked so broken off, did my big chop on may 2nd of this year and I feel so liberated. My go to product is the cantu shea butter for natural hair. I love it I do my wash and goes daily with my cantu shea butter leave in conditioner and I’m fine. Once my hair grows out more i’ll be able to do a lot more twist out hair style

    • Yeah! At this point I’m just letting it grow and taking care of it. Wash and Go’s are my go-to’s right now. Leave in conditioner and I’m ready for the day. When I have some length I’m excited to ‘style’ it more, but right now, I’ll just let it do its thing.

Leave a Reply

